Bo Togel

Togel Online

Togel Online

Lady Antebellum leads ACM Nominations - Country Music Chicago
Your source for country music in Chicago!

Lady Antebellum leads ACM Nominations

Chicago’s country music station receives nomination; local country music hotspot slighted.

no images were found

The Academy of Country Music released, on Tuesday, the slate of nominations for the 45th annual Academy of Country Music Awards. Country music stars Reba McEntire and Blake Shelton announced nominations during a televised presentation. McEntire will return, for her 12th consecutive time, as host for the annual awards gala. The awards program will broadcast live on CBS Television on Sun., April 18.

Artist Nominations:

no images were found

Lady Antebellum leads with seven nominations, including Album of the Year for their self-titled debut and for Top Vocal Group. In addition, the trio picked up nods for Single Record of the Year, Song of the Year and Video of the Year for “Need You Now.” They were also nominated as a producer for Single Record of the Year and as a composer for Song of the Year.

Miranda Lambert and Carrie Underwood both earned six nominations. If Underwood, the reigning the ACM Entertainer of the Year, wins the category again, she will be the first female in Academy history to capture the award twice.

Taylor Swift received five nominations including her first nod for Entertainer of the Year; Kenny Chesney and Brad Paisley, the reigning Top Male Vocalist, each received four nominations. The Zac Brown Band received four nominations while the group’s lead, Zac Brown, received two additional nominations for a total of six.

Local Nominations:

On the home front, Chicago’s own US99, America’s Country Station, (WUSN-FM) picked up a nominations for Major Market Radio Station of the Year in the Academy’s industry awards categories. The reigning Nightclub of the Year, Joe’s Bar, surprisingly didn’t return to this year’s nomination list.

Fan Voted Awards:

Returning in 2010, fans can vote for the coveted Entertainer of the Year slot and the three “new artist” categories —Top New Solo Vocalist, Top New Vocal Group and Top New Vocal Duo. Winners of each “top new” category will then proceed to compete for Top New Artist, which is also fan voted.

The fan voted categories and nominations include:

Entertainer of the Year:

Kenny Chesney, Toby Keith, Brad Paisley, George Strait, Taylor Swift, Carrie Underwood, Keith Urban and the Zac Brown Band

Top New Solo Vocalist of the Year:

Luke Bryan, Jamey Johnson and Chris Young

To New Vocal Duo of the Year:

Bomshel, Joey + Rory and Steel Magnolia

Top New Vocal Group of the Year:

Eli Young Band, Gloriana and The Lost Trailers

Fans can cast their ballots for all categories on The winners of Entertainer of the Year and Top New Artist will be announced during the live telecast, which will broadcast from the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas on Sun., April 18 at 7 p.m. CDT on the CBS Television Network.

For a complete list of categories and nominations, visit

Editor’s Question: Who do you want to win?

2 Responses to Lady Antebellum leads ACM Nominations

  1. I do not think entertainer of the year should be voted on during the telecast. That is the ultimate award they all strive for. I am a carrie fan but she didnt tour much last year and should not win and shouldnt be on the list. But because now its a popularity contest it will not be totally by the merits. I find that sad. With that said she knocked it out of the park with her two recent singles……way to go……carrie

  2. I don’t think to get EOTY, you have to be on tour all year. I remember when Sugarland was nominated and had opened twice for someone else. They didn’t win, but I think it is the person or group that has done alot with their music the past year. Carrie, certainly was working hard writing her new CD and the TV holiday Special, American Heroes etc. plus two great songs and video’s.

    I vote for Carrie…..